RSS

Toughest Three Miles since…..well…the first three

12 Mar

On Saturday afternoon I took off for Burkitsville (yes, Blair Witch Burkitsville) for a short three mile run.  I decided I would run on the Appalachian Trail and would knock it out quickly and easily.  Well, I forgot how rocky this stretch of trail is and I forgot how steep it is and I forgot how wet and windy it has been and how many downed trees there are this time of year.

The first quarter mile was an uphill hurdling contest.  I spent more time hopping over downed trees than I did in running stride.  I reached the crest and turned around.  I hopped on another stretch of trail that was much cleaner and slightly less rocky.  At the halfway point I had to stop and catch my breath, something I have not done in so long I can’t remember when the last time was.  Needless to say I was frustrated at how this mountain trail was kicking my butt.

Then it happened, I looked up into the canopy and saw woodpeckers, jays, songbirds of all sorts busy flying around doing whatever birds do.  I didn’t hear a car or see a person, just nature.  A couple of wild turkeys then crossed the trail in front of me.  My frustration lifted and I was reminded of how lucky I am to live where I do and how thankul I am for moments like this.  I managed to finish my run strong and refreshed.

While the trail may have kicked my butt on a run that should be easy for me, I am glad I chose the path I did. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
