RSS

New Found Focus

26 Feb

When I started running back in July of 2011, I never figured on training for anything beyond my first 5k.  I’ve been hooked since the day I crossed that 5K finish line.  Not long after that 5K I ran five miles.  Then I ran six.  Then 8!  Now I’m able to do 10.  I’ve got no doubt, barring major catastrophes, that I’ll be running across the finish line of my first half in May.  The physical aspect of all this has been fairly easy aside from a few setbacks that were attributed to overuse.

The mental part has been a little bit tougher.  While my pain threshold is high and nagging little pains and pangs don’t bother, focusing in to run X distance can be tough.  When I set out to do my weekly long run, or even shorter runs later in the day through the week, clearing my mind and telling myself, “its just YOU and THIS RUN” for however long it takes is the hard part.  I know I could not have done it five years ago.  While I am not sure if it is the NEED to get away from the ten million other things that fight for my time, or just a maturity that has come with growing up that now allows me to devote the time to an endurance sport, I feel like I have grown so much since I first started out.

I am sure the day will come when I set out on a run and a few miles in I think, “you know what, that other project just can’t wait, turn around and go home” and I simply have to concede to the voice in my head, but for now, I plan to use my new found focus for all it is worth.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
