RSS

Bethany Beach Weekend = Great Running Opportunity

20 Feb

Over the weekend Th’ Almost Wife and I snuck away for a quiet off-season weekend down at Bethany Beach, Delaware.  I told her from the day we planned the trip that, “I will be getting a LONG run in down there.”  Friday night we found a nice bar in Ocean City, MD (just down the road a bit) called “JC’s Northside”.  Let me tell you folks, if you want REALLY GOOD bar food, great drinks, and hands down some of the best service EVER, check this place out if you’re on the Delmarva Peninsula.  You won’t be sorry. 

We slept in all the way to 7AM on Saturday, had breakfast at the condo (no, not my condo), and took off for a run at 11.  I started out in a sweatshirt, but by the time Th’ Almost Wife reached her turnaround point (she just started running a month ago), I was down to shorts and t-shirt. 

“How far are you going?” she asked as we parted ways

“8 to 10 miles or until I’m far enough inland to see a chicken house.”  I said

and around the corner I went.  Running on the flat coastal plane at sea level on a nice day is so EASY compared to running here in the Appalachians.  Or should I say, “running on the flat coastal plane at sea level is easy BECAUSE of the running I do in the Appalachians?”  All I can say is I was totally in the zone on Saturday.  At mile 8 I had to stop and get a drink at the Harris Teeter.  If not for hydradation, I’m convinced I could have gone on forever (or until dinner).  I really need to get some sort of hydration belt for longer runs because once I stop my body throws on the “nope you’re done” protection mechanism pretty quick.

As I finished up my last two miles the cold front that brought snow to the South this weekend was moving in.  I’m glad I didn’t wait until the next day to get my run in.  I am also pleasantly surprised at how quickly I have recovered.  Maybe it was the post-run bar run back to Ocean Side Pizza in Fenwick Island, DE (also highly recommended) and JC’s Northside?  My legs feel great and I am chomping at the bit to get a quick run in tonight despite having to teach a youth farm machinery safety class this evening.  

On March 4th I head back to Delmarva to partake in the Tim Kennard 10 Miler in Salisbury, MD www.timkennard.org .  Up until this weekends run, I was a little concerned at where I was conditioning wise.  I am no longer concerned, I just hope we get good weather!

On another note, the topic of my running came up at work today in a conversation with a co-worker.  He was blown away when I told him the distances and frequency that I can now run.  I immediately took him back to the start, “a half mile one night back in July bro….I built from there.”  I think the important thing to stress to people you’re trying to motivate or inspire is that the first step is the most critical.  JUST DO SOMETHING!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
