RSS

I Admit it, I’m soft

14 Feb

Sunday we saw a high of 31 degrees with stiff winds.  For some reason I was just itching to run outside.  Off I went on what would be a tough six miles with lots of long hills.  This fall and winter have been way too nice.  My body seriously never adapted to the cold temperatures.  While I realize even the most well conditioned athletes will struggle in freezing, windy, weather, I was totally unprepared.  As much as I enjoyed running in late summer like temps through November and spring like conditions in December and January, they’ve made me soft to normal conditions around these parts.

My lungs burned, the wind cut, and my body just never felt like it was warmed up.  “Man I wish I had just done the boring old treadmill today.” I thought.  However, when it was over, it was totally worth it!  It made me appreciate my furnace and my hot water heater more as well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
