RSS

Finally got some fresh air!

06 Jan

As convenient as running on the treadmill can be, nothing beats getting outside and beating the streets.  Last night wasn’t as bitter cold and windy as it has been, so I took off on a quick two mile run around town followed by some strength work at the gym.  I don’t know what I will do when the day comes to move out of my current house.  The gym is so close and the proximity to safe streets, roads, and trails makes it hard to beat for running. Today is a scheduled off day for me, but I plan to get a good 6 to 8 miles in tomorrow as the weather looks really good for January in mid-Maryland (54 degree and sunny).

I have been using Hal Higdon’s (www.halhigdon.com) training outlines since day one.  I am currently working through his intermediate 10 miler/15K program.  I like the increased focus on strength training and speed work.  I may have to build in an extra rest day here and there, but otherwise, I’ve found his programs effective in the short time I have been using them.  The main thing I like is that his website is laid out simply and the “printer friendly” versions of his programs really are printer (and browser) friendly.  Format and accessibility are so critical to whatever you’re selling or sharing on the web.  There is nothing worse than clicking dead links or needing to upgrade software programs just to get whatever it is a link leads to. 

My plan is to run in the Tim Kennard 10 Mile River Run http://www.timkennard.org/ down in beautiful Salisbury, MD on March 4th. The ten mile start is at the same time and place as the 5K start which my wonderful wife to be will be running.  This is her first race so I plan to start with her, pace with her for awhile, and then hopefully take off for a strong finish in the ten miler.  The timing and location of this race couldn’t be better for where I am with my training right now.  Any sooner and I’m not sure I’d be ready for a 10 miler, any later and it would get to close to the Frederick Running Festival Half Marathon in May.  

If you haven’t been to Salisbury, it is a nice old college town on the Eastern Shore of Maryland.  While I love my mountains out here in Central, MD, you can’t get that brack water out of my veins that easily.  Returning to the shore will be nice…..plus it is REALLY FLAT over there which should make for a good first race experience for my significant other while giving me a good test at a new distance.

This first week of increased training has been solid.  I bumped my intervals up to 4×800 (from 400) and I am anxious for a pretty day for a long run on the roads tomorrow.  Hopefully you’ll get out there too!  Trust me, you’ll feel better if you do!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Finally got some fresh air!

  1. ttrodriguez

    January 11, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    I feel SOOO much better when I run outside than when I run on a treadmill. Plus, treadmill running seems to last forever and my stride is way off when I run indoors. Good luck training!!

     
    • Hank

      January 11, 2012 at 8:28 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, the time goes by faster and I think I focus in on my own natural pace and stride when I’m outside, whereas in the gym, I want to keep ticking that little speed button up to make the red line go around the track faster 🙂 Plus, the air quality in gyms can’t be all that good with everyone huffing and puffing all the time. Alas, the treadmill is a helpful training partner when it is cold, wet, dark, and nasty out. I really look forward to my weekend outdoor runs, mainly because I can do them in the daylight.

       

Leave a Reply

 
