RSS

And on Friday, he rested

29 Dec

I’ve only been able to get minimal, mostly treadmill running in since Christmas.  The weather has been ridiculous, raining one minute, snowing the next, clear for five seconds with gale force winds, 53 degrees one day, 30 degrees the next.  Year end has me scrambling at work as folks visit their tax planners at the last minute and find out they made too much money (the horrors) and have to buy something (oh no!) expensive from me.  While I don’t care for the tax code, I’ll gladly take the indirect subsidy.   An evening workout is a welcome break when you’ve spent your day selling machines, writing purchase orders, chasing down inventory, and setting up finance contracts.   The clip clop of my feet on the treadmill and the sweat dripping down my nose is like music to my ears.  Focusing on my breathing and nothing else makes the brain numbing numbers and forms disappear.  I feel better immediately and the feeling lasts.

The Brambleton Ringing in Hope 5K is Saturday.  While I am doubtful my time will improve much, if at all from my last race due to some training setbacks and screwups I’ve had this past month, I expect to run strong.  At times I find it hard to believe I only restarted my fitness journey a little over 5 1/2 months ago.  Running a 5K without dying seemed like a far off goal back then, now 3.1 miles comes and goes, my biggest problem is trying to run them too fast too soon (my fast= your slow….just watch your back).  While I don’t look at New Years as the start/stop point outside of accounting purposes or a time to set goals (set them regularly and follow up), this year the anticipation of 2012 seems greater than any other year in recent memory.  This is probably due to the fact that A) I am getting married in June B) I am running my first half marathon(s?) and C) I am actively seeking new business ventures to compliment and or offset my day to day work.   All of this, coupled with the anxiety I have as an economist makes 2012 very exciting.  We live in turbulent, unprecedented times, but time does not stop for any of us.

Now get off the computer and go exercise!  You’ll feel better!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “And on Friday, he rested

  1. ttrodriguez

    December 30, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Good luck on you 5K tomorrow!!! And Happy New Year!

     
    • Hank

      January 1, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      Thanks! Likewise!

       

Leave a Reply

 
